Watching NASCAR: Watch out Texas, Here They Come

There is something very familiar about this week’s standings in the Chase — Jimmie Johnson is back on top. However not by much as Brad Keselowski has shown that he is not going away as the two of them appear to be making the Cup Championship a two-man event.

The two have been close and Johnson winning last week in the Tums Fast Relief 500 managed to finally dislodge Keselowski from the top spot in the standings. All things considered Keselowski had a solid day, starting in the back of the pack and working his way to a brief stay at first before fading to a sixth place finish. Johnson ran a strong race and got bonus points for most laps led, among others. Kyle Busch took second followed by Kasey Kahne, Arix Almirola, and Clint Boyer. Dale Earnhardt Jr., back after missing two races due to a concussion, finished in 21st.

In other news it looks like Dodge may return to NASCAR. ESPN reported that Ralph Gilles, president and CEO of the SRT Brand and Chrysler Group LLC told the sports broadcaster that the manufacturer is looking to return and that it saw NASCAR as a very good investment. After its lone team, Penske, said that it was moving to Ford earlier this year Dodge announced it would depart NASCAR next year. Now it has to go hunting for a team.

This Week: The AAA Texas 500

Broadcast: Nov. 4 at 2 pm ET ESPN


Sprint Cup Standings
1) Jimmie Johnson
2) Brad Keselowski -2
3) Clint Boyer -26
4) Kasey Kahne -29
5) Denny Hamlin -49
6) Jeff Gordon -54
7) Martin Truex Jr. -63
8 ) Matt Kenseth –65
9) Greg Biffle -69
10) Tony Stewart -71
11) Kevin Harvick -88
12) Dale Earnhardt Jr. -140


No race last week.

This Week: O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway

: Nov. 3 at 7 pm ET ESPN

Nationwide Standings

1) Elliott Sadler
2) Ricky Stenhouse Jr. -6
3) Austin Dillon -26
4) Sam Hornish Jr. -98
5) Michael Annett -150

NASCAR Under the Lights at Samsung Mobile 500 in Texas

The results were either interesting or disappointing from Martinsville’s Goody’s Fast Relief 500 two weeks ago, depending on who you are rooting for and what you look for in a race. The race had its fill of last minute screw ups including last lap stalling, crashes and over time. When the dust and smoke had settled, but probably not the tempers, Ryan Newman was the victor.
The Top 5 Finishers

Ryan Newman
AJ Allmendinger
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Matt Kenseth
Martin Truex Jr.

Now the circuit has moved on to Texas for the Samsung Mobile 500 that will take place on the 1.5 mile oval track at Texas Motor Speedway. A quick reminder, the Nationwide race will be tonight (Friday) and the Sprint race is tomorrow night under the lights. I hope none of the Nationwide drivers are superstitious about racing on Friday the 13th!

Last year Matt Kenseth finally ended a streak of also-rans at the track by taking hoe the checkered flag, and with his solid performance last week has to be considered a top contender here again. In the Sprint Cup standings the drivers are still very bunched up at the top, with four tied for third place but the makeup of the drivers and teams has remained relatively stable from the last race.

Sat. 7PM ET on Fox

I occasionally tap in to individual drivers twitter feeds but need to do so more often as some have very interesting things to sday, while others often sound like a PR team is pushing the comments out. Any recommendations on who to follow?
@NASCAR-Official NASCAR feed
@TXMotorspeedway-Texas Motor Speedway Official feed
@TMSTotalAccess-Brad Gillie-Texas MS All Access show
@NASCARONFOX-Fox Sports feed
@AllWaltrip-3 Time NASCAR Champ and Fox announcer


1) Greg Biffle
2) Dale Earnhardt Jr. -6
3) Tony Stewert -12
4) Matt Kenseth -12
5) Kevin Harvick -12
6) Martin Truex Jr. -12

For the Nationwide O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 race the fastest lap was turned in by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. with a speed of 179.611 miles per hour in one of his practice laps. There will be an additional hour of practice this morning a few hours prior to the start of the race. The four top positions following Stenhouse Jr. are filled by Elliott Sadler, Paul Menard, Kasey Kahne and Joey Logano.
Last year the race was won by Carl Edwards, a feat that marketed a repeat performance by the driver as he won the event the previous year as well.


1) Elliott Stadler 214
2) Ricky Stenhouse Jr. -18 behind
3) Austin Dillon -27 behind
4) Trevor Bayne -34 behind
5) Sam Hornish Jr. -54 behind

Hall of Fame Vote 2013-Your Vote Counts!
NASCAR has released its list of nominees for election into its Hall of Fame for 2013, with a slate of 25 people which will be honed down to five lucky people that will be honored by being selected for induction.

We are not going to list them all, you can just hop over to the site and see all of the people, with a succinct mentioning of why they deserve to be on the list. Of more interest to fans is that the can have a say by voting on the Class of 2013, so as they say in Chicago “Vote early and vote often.”